Rebel without a cause…

     Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know, it’s Wednesday and we wear pink. I applaud all that do, but I don’t. Quite frankly, I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to it. Childhood memories of a pepto bismol hued wardrobe still makes me cringe! ugh. Dr. Phil, help here?!?
Red, unfortunately, is not too far behind on my black list of colours. I love the IDEA of red, or seeing it on other people, but have also been reluctant to try it. And what’s the best way to cross into unfamiliar territory?!? With something familiar by side…Voila, one of my favourite stamping polishes, China Glaze 2030.
After a summer filled with corals and brights, I decided to give a vampy dark a whirl.

  Came across this little gem, China Glaze ‘Naughty or Nice’, during one of my Cosmoprof escapades with Marta @chitchatnails. A deep blue based red cream. It’s not new, Winter 2010, I believe, but new to me. After two generous coats, I stamped with Bundle Monster plate 222 and China Glaze 2030. Topped off with Essie ‘Good to Go’.
No visible side effects have been experienced from this faaaaaaar stretch for me so far 🙂 At this rate, there might be a pink post by Christmas. I said ‘might’… 😛

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marta
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 18:15:15

    Uhm Hello!!!! Have you been rubbing up against my photography-hubby lately!!!! Love that photo with the gold necklace!!!!!
    Love the rich colour combo 🙂
    Want a Dr’s phone number? I have a few on speed-dial 😉

    Reply

  2. Mary S. (@SwatchAndLearn)
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 18:23:17

    I also feel the same way about pink, but I think it’s because I haven’t found many that really moved me. Still on the hunt – I won’t give up.

    Your manicure is gorgeous – the base colour and the stamping! Your photographs are also so sharp and it looks like you’re a hand model. Very nice! 🙂

    Reply

    • Magda
      Oct 12, 2011 @ 18:32:09

      Oh my gosh! You’re making me blush, not an easy feat! 🙂 Thanks so much…I learn from the best (Marta @chitchatnails)…LOL

      Reply

  3. polishedindulgence
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 19:10:13

    I love vampy red cremes! I don’t own this one but I think that might have to change. That photo with the gold necklace is genius! The pattern you chose complements the colors you picked very well. Kudos! 🙂

    Pink is such a comfort color for me though. It’s something I gravitate towards when I need to “clean the palate”. 🙂

    Reply

    • Magda
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:30:19

      Thanks so much! I was reeeeaallly impressed with this one…coverage is excellent. As for the pink, I think I just haven’t found my match. I would probably opt for something with gold undertones :P…do you know of any?

      Reply

      • polishedindulgence
        Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:06:23

        (Just saw this, sorry!)
        I’m not sure but off the top of my head, one of my favorite pinks has a bit of a gold undertone to it so it looks like a peachy pink. It’s from L’Oreal called Trust Fund Baby. Another one is OPI Cozu-melted Under the Sun. Nubar’s Berry Intense is a blue based pink but it has a pretty gold shimmer to it that you might like. 🙂

      • Magda
        Oct 22, 2011 @ 12:49:40

        Oh wow! Thanks so much! Next time I’m at Chitchat nails, I’ll raid her stash, I’m sure one of those is bound to turn up! :op

  4. Trackback: This blue me away… « Make Up By Magda
  5. Trackback: ChitChatNails » Blog Archive » Guest Post – Magda from Makeup By Magda

Leave a Reply

