Holy Smokes!!!

During my recent fashion reading endeavours, I stumbled across the October cover of People Stylewatch which caught my eye in a mayjah way. It features Mila Kunis with the most incredible, yet subtle, eye makeup. She’s wearing a plumey-greyish smokey eye, which has become eponymous with her lately. Love, love, love this look! In my eyes, Mila can do no wrong makeup wise.(*cough*… girl crush… *cough*) 😛 Whether it’s this particular look, or something a bit more sultry, she always looks chic and never tacky, like some other celebs! ( Kim Kardashian….who said that?!?)

As they say, imitation is the best form of flattery, sooo….Here’s my take on it!

 

Surprisingly, this is fairly easy to reproduce! As always, I used MAC Painterly to prime my lids, and followed it with MAC Sketch applied with a fluffy dome brush. In the crease I applied Joe Fresh Smoke ( Joe, how I love thee! 🙂 ). Next, I tightlined both lash lines with Yves Rocher waterproof liner, and smoked it out with MAC Smut. Highlighted the brow bone and inner corners with MAC Brulee, followed by a generous amount of L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black applied to curled lashes. Topped it of with Andrea 21 lashes….and, PRESTO! 🙂 For those with greenish eyes (like myself) this will make your eye colour pop incredibly! I definitely use this as my “go to” when going out and such.
Simple,right?!? Like I said, when it comes to makeup, it’s not all smoke and mirrors…:)

So, let me know, is this something you’d try? 🙂

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 17:13:57

    I love this!! Looks great!

    Reply

  2. marta
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 17:14:31

    Magda, while I love the look I don’t know if I could differentiate a “fluffy dome brush” from a patio broom… Oh how I envy you your makeup skill (and stash).

    ps. Masz ladne oczka 😀

    Reply

    • Magda
      Oct 17, 2011 @ 17:21:06

      Oh, Marta! You should know by now there really is no differentiation! The versatility of the broom! JK I can teach you in exchange for some stamping pointers! 😛

      Reply

  3. Mary S. (@SwatchAndLearn)
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:14:01

    This looks great on you – love it! And, by the way, I actually think your eye look is waaaay better than Mila Kunis’. Plus you don’t have a team of makeup experts to do the work for you, so I’m extremely impressed!

    Reply

  4. Peter aka The Other
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 21:56:08

    “As they say, imitation is the best form of flattery, sooo…. ” not bad Madzia !!! Even Hollywood cellebrites are copying you 🙂

    Reply

  5. trisha
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 03:45:40

    really love this smoky eye look you did:)

    Reply

  6. izabela
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 20:06:31

    I love this with your green eyes! But I’m with Marta – no idea what a dome brush is. You should do a tutorial.

    Reply

Leave a comment