This blue me away…

So, this is what we’ve learned so far about Magda’s colour preferences: pinks and reds-no, browns and oranges-yes. But what about blues?!? Much like Friday’s leftover Chinese food on a Sunday, it’s a maybe. Buuuut, I did promise to branch out. So, following the advice of my bestie, Marta at Chitchat Nails, I decided to give Rimmel Midnight Blue,a deep royal blue, a whirl.

Ok, I’m not gonna lie, I COULDN’T STOP staring at my nails!!! This blue colour is gorge on its own. The formula is fantastic, and covers really well in just two twin coats. Rimmel also did a fantastic job with the wide brush. And I do have to say that after three days, no chips in sight! I figured that adding a contrasting stamp would bring out the shimmer in this polish. And, boy, was I right. Using China Glaze Hi-tek and Bundle Monster 207 plate I applied the design vertically. A complete epic fail! This was my first attempt at stamping vertically, and we didn’t hit it off right away. But, much like that whole bike riding thing and the heavy European accent, I will over come this as well! 😛

Thanks to this decadent colour, being blue isn’t such a bad thing for once! 🙂

So, are you dabbling with these oh-so-of-the-moment darks?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. margie
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 12:11:55

    hi,Magda,I’ve been following your blog since day one and I am amazed by your fantastic and little unique taste revery time I read it,and pictures are just fantastic(wonder,who’s behind that!) You are very creative and this is that side of you that I didn’t know much,although I thought I knew you well!!!! Excellent job! This time -I couldn’t stop staring at your nails(you know that I am not much into cosmetic stuff!) and as much as I don’t like blue,THAT blue was amazingly different,made me think that,maybe,I should start looking after my nails?!Never too late,they say.Do you provide personal consultation? Preferably, at my house?

    Reply

  2. Marta
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 13:51:14

    Okay… I am my European-accent behind is in stitches on the floor laughing… and while I loved your writeup, I ADORE these nails!
    Yes it is a blue, but it is Magdafied!
    I do not know where you see “epic fail” but you rocked the vertical stamp (they really really are tough to do!)
    ps… are you sure you weren’t a hand model in another life?!

    Reply

    • Magda
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 02:58:41

      Marta, thanks sooooo much for the continued encouragement! Means a lot to me…and I’ve got some crack, er, polish coming your way! 😛

      Reply

  3. polishedindulgence
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 15:19:24

    How is that epic fail? It looks absolutely gorgeous to me! I love me some blues so this is definitely up my alley. I love the contrast between the gold and navy, and the pattern you chose definitely makes it eye catching.

    I’ve been wearing some darks (mostly purples and navy actually) lately, but after picking up CC Back to Boho, the pretty dusty pastels have been on rotation ever since. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mary S. (@SwatchAndLearn)
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 22:02:39

    I love that colour on you, Magda! 🙂 And I also like how you brightened it up and added a touch of unique sophistication with your stamping.

    And the photo of you holding the necklace is beautiful. I can picture it in one of those fancy jewelry catalogues.

    Umm…if that’s an ‘epic fail’, then your ‘successful’ manicures must blow everyone out of the water, onto the shore, and then back into the water! 😛

    Reply

    • Magda
      Oct 27, 2011 @ 03:02:28

      OMG! Thank you sooo much for those kind words of encouragement, especially for me just starting out with this blogging thing!:) Yeah, the O.C.D sometimes gets the best of me! 😛 I’m a stickler to detail…

      Reply

  5. Peter aka The Other
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 00:47:31

    Listen you and your hubby are becoming quite the photographers! I’m so impressed!!! Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

