Tools of the trade…

Ok, so I’ve been mentioning this “fluffy dome brush” in my make up posts a LOT. Well, today I figured I’d actually explain to you what I mean.
For you ladies with a basic knowledge of brushes, I wouldn’t wanna bore you, so click here.

Normally when I think of a tool, this comes to mind…


but, I figured I’d explain the OTHER kind to you…
A fluffy dome brush is one that is extremely versatile, hence I own 5674683264 of them ๐Ÿ˜› It gets it’s name from the shape, which is tapered into a dome. This allows for a subtle, smoky wash of colour. They’re usually made of natural hairย  (and we remember that natural hairs deposit less colour, than synthetics, right?!? ๐Ÿ˜› ) and vary in size from tiny to quite large.

Can you see how the swatched line gets thinner and thinner? That’s because the size of the brush is proportional to the application you’re gonna get. Smaller brush=thinner, more precise line. Larger brush=broader, more diffused line. This was swatched with a pretty dark eyeshadow (Nars), which shows you just how diluted the application can be! These brushes are fantastic for novices and pros alike, as they are very forgiving and hide any mishaps quite well…
Their uses don’t end at eyeshadow either. They can be used to apply concealer under the eyes, highlighter where needed, as well as transculent powder exactly where necessary…

Now, if I could just find a tutorial on these brushes, I’d be set… ๐Ÿ˜›

Let me know ladies, was this helpful at all?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. margie
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 18:35:08

    omg!Madzia,this is hilarious!Where did u find THAT TOOL(the one with six pack,obviously!) was pretty cool,just looking at IT made me think if I would find any use for IT at my house,he he he! The other tools,the ones with longer handles, I am very familiar with,didn’t need any explanation!!

    Reply

  2. polishedindulgence
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 19:52:10

    Funny and insightful, I like it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think this is timely as I’ve just had a friend ask me about brushes and I’m no pro so I will definitely be sending her over to your blog. I just hope she doesn’t stare at the “Tool” too much instead on focusing on what she needs to learn. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  3. marta
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 18:10:47

    Okay… lol I’m actually blushing because of the first Tool… and Like Margie ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would find at least one use for IT at my house so I will be glad to take IT off of her hands when she is done with IT ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol
    Yeah… you mean all those brushes (first and second photo) cannot be used interchangeably? My blush came with a brush… I’d do a Twin comparison post but you need at least two brushes for a ‘comparison’. lol

    Love how informative and Funny this way! Keep it up!!!!

    Reply

  4. Peter aka The Other
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 00:46:28

    Oooo Madzia! Ooo Madzia!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

