Birds of a feather…

Hi, my name is Magda and I have an addiction. To makeup that is! So much so that when I see the various wonders nature has to offer the first thing that comes to mind is “How can I take this concept and translate it into makeup?!?” Take peacock feathers for example. The average person sees the unbelievable melange of rich, saturated jewel tones. I see an eye “look” 😛 . Yeah, it’s THAT bad…
So, when I recently saw these magnificent feathers popping up all over the runways and in accessories, I figured it must be a sign! 🙂 I MUST recreate! Aaaaaannnd….voila!

 

MAC Painterly-lid primer

Joe Fresh Peacock-lid colour

Kat Von D Johnette-outer lid

MAC Bronze-crease

MAC Coppering-inner corner    * I’m not a 100% sure on this, as all my shadows are depoted and the name is gone 🙂

Nars liner in Campo de’Fiori-inner corner

MAC liner in Teddy-upper lashline and lower waterline

L’Oreal Voluminous False Lashes Mascara

Andrea 21 lashes

 

I’m a big fan of jewel tones to start with, so putting them together only seemed like a natural progression. Don’t get me wrong, this is definitely not a Saturday-morning-Home-Depot-shopping kinda look, but in the proper setting it’s quite stunning! It being Hallowe’en today, the opportunity is definitely there to test drive it…

And if you ask me, these colours flock together quite well… 😛

Ladies, what do you take inspiration from when it comes to makeup?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marta
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 18:22:15

    I loooove this look! I really do. Peacocks (although the name of the bird makes me giggle in a grade-3 type of way) are sooo pretty! (well, their behinds are prettier than their turkey like heads…) uhm…
    Anyhow, I love the source of inspiration and how you carried it into the makeup. Dziu know, that BundleMonster has peacock feather stamps? Sometimes too much of a good thing is not well… good… but that would complete the look no?

    Reply

  2. Trackback: All is not gold that glitters…it may be bronze! « Make Up By Magda

Leave a Reply

